top of page
Search

Facebook and what it means to me

I set up Coal Mining in Leicestershire on Facebook as a group last year. I then made a Facebook page and moved over to Twitter. I have seen so many wonderful men and women post their stories about mining. Whether they worked down the mines, on the surface or in the canteen or as admin staff. It has showed such dedication to this area I was so overwhelmed with. I am pleased that we can keep this part of our lives ALIVE in some form. To understand what mining was all about, to grasp the horrific circumstances that miners worked in, darkness, water drenched for hours, but to totally be appreciative of the fact that they loved their job for one reason only and that was THE MEN they worked with. The laughter, the jokes, the silliness which they were all part of to me that shows what humans are and should be. So please in life show who you are, show your true self, be an inspiration to others, do not let anyone tell you to be someone you are not.

The Miners and staff at all the mines are certainly an inspiration to me and I want to thank you for helping me understand mining and what it meant to every Leicestershire Community especially North West Leicestershire and the Hinckley and Nuneaton areas.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page